Music Review! Fifth Harmony Gives Us Fierce with New Album 7/27!

The fierce ladies of Fifth Harmony, Camila Cabello, Normani Kordei Hamilton, Lauren Jauregui, Allyson Brooke Hernandez, and Dinah Jane Hansen, are an all-female contemporary R&B group who formed in 2012 while competing on the second season of Fox’s The X Factor. Originally, they entered The X Factor individually as solo artists and were then placed together by judge Simon Cowell to compete as a group. (This story sound familiar to anyone??). They came in 3rd but obviously the rest is history…

The group’s initial EP, Better Together was released in 2013. In 2015, they released their debut full-length studio album, Reflection, which included the singles “Bo$$,” “Sledgehammer,” and “Worth It.” The album debuted at number five on the U.S. Billboard 200, eventually reaching gold certification status.

The girls have become a female super group and I respect them so much. Growing up we had a lot of good girl groups but that stopped for a while. So it’s good to see talented girl groups and female solo artists as well. They are kicking ass and taking names and I love it!

My Review

Let’s get into this music review of their new EP 7/27 (Named after the date that the group was officially formed during their time on The X Factor) that was released last week on May 27th (2016).

The album starts out with girl power laced “That’s My Girl” which is a fun and empowering song for their fellow females.

Then we go into their record breaking single “Work From Home” featuring Ty Dolla Sign. I didn’t jump on the bandwagon for this song right away. The main reason I had listened to this song was because of Ty. But the more I heard it and saw them perform it, the more I got into it.

I am feeling the track “All In My Head (Flex)” but the Fetty Wap feature doesn’t work for me. I have been a Fetty Wap fan but after a while, all of his songs and features sound exactly the same and it becomes annoying. The girls still sound amazing though.

“Scared of Happy” is definitely one of those amazing real relationship songs. This is what happens when that one person makes me feel so much that it scares the shit out of you. You almost feel like you don’t deserve to be happy or that it’s too good to be true. Trust your gut and don’t run from it.

“Not That Kinda Girl” describes how I pretty much felt when I was single. Guys think that just because they money or a nice car that your supposed to drop to your knees for them. Um, NO! It takes more than that buddy!

“Dope” is such a great song, the beat, their vocals, and especially the lyrics. Is it because someone special comes to mind when I listen to the lyrics?? Maybe lol 🙂

The album ends with “No Way” which reminds me of Jhene Aiko’s music which is not a bad thing. That just means that the music and lyrics evoke a lot of emotion and puts you in your feelings. Those songs are hard to find sometimes.

I am definitely a fan after listening to this album. It is one of those albums that doesn’t try too hard and is just a perfect mix of Pop and R&B,mixed with a few other musical elements to give it a little more kick.



Check Out These Ladies!



Twitter & Instagram @fifthharmony

6 thoughts on “Music Review! Fifth Harmony Gives Us Fierce with New Album 7/27!

  1. whoah this weblog is wonderful i love studying your
    articles. Stay up the good work! You understand, a lot of individuals are looking
    around for this info, you could help them greatly.

  2. Awesome article.

  3. Just desire to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clarity in your post is just cool and i can assume you are an expert on this subject.

    Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed
    to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the gratifying work.

  4. Quality posts is the secret to attract the viewers to visit the web site, that’s what this web page is providing.

  5. Thanks extremely handy. Will share site with my good friends

    • Mimi

      Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>